?

Is a human x anthro ape-girl romance weird?

1. Yes, Definitely!

2. Not Necessarily

3. Not at All!

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. MaxHuber25

MaxHuber25 New Member

Can My Interspecies Romance Work?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MaxHuber25, Feb 21, 2024.

Hi, so this is my first time on the forum. I’m working on a Sci Fi romance novel about a man who is sent a little over a million years into the past and finds himself in the midst of an ancient civilization (Ancient Rome level technology) of large sapient ape-like humanoids—basically missing links with a mix of Ancient/Medieval clothing and civilization.

Over the course of his journey/mission he unexpectedly meets and gradually falls in love with a rebellious female ape-woman who is his only ally in this dangerous world.
    Despite him being human and her being basically a humanoid anthropomorphic ape, they bond through their shared experiences and eventually begin a romantic relationship. Despite doing my best to have this romance to be written well, I know that some people may take umbrage to the interspecies aspect, but my goal is to take the relationship seriously. Make it genuinely sweet and healthy.

So it all comes down to this: Is the species difference here going to cause too much squick and/or backlash from readers?

Last edited: Feb 21, 2024
  2. Madman

Madman Life is Sacred Contributor

If it has a hole, the male has a goal.

Okay, less crass, yes this could work just fine.

Remember, you're writing sci-fi. Most sci-fi readers are used to non-standard things.

Will they be able to have children?

Not the Territory and MaxHuber25 like this.
  3. J.T. Woody

J.T. Woody Book Witch Contributor

Ooh..oh...

You have not found THAT part of Amazon Kindle yet :read2:

I concur with Madman's first sentence

Madman likes this.
  4. MaxHuber25

MaxHuber25 New Member